VIRTUAL: Uveitis Treatment: Past, Present and Future featuring H. Nida Sen, MD, MHS

Friday, April 9, 2021 (5:00 PM - 7:30 PM) (CDT)

2.5 Hour(s) 

Event Details

This meeting is being co-sponsored by the Mayo Clinic.

5:00 pm to 6:30 pm:  "Challenging Cases" in Uveitis from Mayo Clinic and University of Minnesota

6:30 pm to 7:30 pm:  Uveitis Treatment:   Past, Present and Future - H. Nida Sen, MD

Dr. Sen obtained her M.D. degree from Hacettepe University of Turkey and a Master of Health Sciences from Duke University. She completed her ophthalmology residency at George Washington University and her uveitis and ocular immunology fellowship at the National Eye Institute (NEI). She is a Lasker Clinical Research Scholar and clinical investigator at the NEI.

Dr. Sen’s research primarily focuses on understanding the mechanisms involved in different forms of human uveitis on the premise that better understanding of the disease will lead to development of innovative methods of diagnosis and novel treatment approaches. She has led many clinical trials and natural history studies in ocular inflammatory diseases. She has been and remains a collaborator on several NIH-funded grants.  She has received several awards for her research including senior achievement award of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, Prevention of Blindness (POB) society of Metropolitan Washington Research Award, and NIH Lasker Clinical Research Scholar Award. She is also an NIH Distinguished Scholar. In addition to her research activities Dr. Sen is an active clinician and an educator. She is the Director of the Uveitis Clinic and Uveitis and Ocular Immunology Fellowship Program at NEI and mentored many clinical fellows, residents and MRSP students. She is a board certified ophthalmologist and is a participating member of American Academy of Ophthalmology and international research networks.

Accreditation Statement 

In support of improving patient care, this activity is planned and implemented by Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science and the Minnesota Academy of Ophthalmology.  Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.

Credit Statement 

Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science designates this LIVESTREAM activity for a maximum of 2.50 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™.  Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

The April meeting of the Minnesota Academy of Ophthalmology is supported, in part, by a grant from Horizon Therapeutics.  Contact:  Sandy Alexander, 612-940-6497,


Additional Information
Event Contact:
Kris Wallerich
Contact Organization:
Minnesota Academy Of Ophthalmology
Powered By GrowthZone